Wasted Year

IMG_2452I’m a Gemini. I have a million ideas. Not all of them great, however some have snuck in there and have been amazing.

I once held a garage sale without my mom’s knowledge and sold everything for $.25. One time I took string from my light switch all the way to my bed in order to turn it on and off. I couldn’t afford the clapper.

Truly, I was just scared of the dark. The 3 foot leap from the door to my bed in the dark, was just too risky. 

Those dreams all had one thing in common, follow through. I went out there and I made it happen.

I have had entrepreneur blood in me since the day I was born. I was put on this earth to do something great, something that is great to me, and something I feel will leave a legacy.
What I haven’t been great at is making it happen. I have had the, “Sit there and let it happen” attitude, and nothing has come from it.

My husband has not knocked on my door. Though there were several opportunities Tasty Pizza!

My credit card companies didn’t call me and lower their monthly payment.
The boxes, from when I moved in a year and a half ago, haven’t been cleaned out and put away.

No one has asked me to be a CEO of their company.

So I got to thinking. All great things that have happened in my life were when I stepped up and I made it happen. Some call it bossy, I call it taking charge of ones’ life.

How do you run a college newspaper? Nominate yourself.

How do you become President of MN ACE group? Nominate yourself.

How do you go on dates? Swipe right yourself.

Great things don’t show up to your house and let themselves in. I have known this my whole life, but I got to a point where I was tired of fighting for it. I took a year off.

I wasted a whole year. I did nothing. I searched for nothing, didn’t drive to do something better or commit myself to getting out there. I sat on a chair and watched Netflix. Some amazing Netflix that is. Have you ever watched GLEE? Life changing. But I digress. 

When I turned 30, I vowed to live my life with new zest. That lasted 365 days.

Now that I have wasted 365 days. It’s time to get back on the wagon. It’s not about how many times you fall off, but if you can keep running beside the moving wagon long enough to jump back on and enjoy the ride.

I’m taking back control. Watch out world.

– KJM

3 thoughts on “Wasted Year

  1. Dawne says:

    Don’t ever say you wasted those days…you haven’t. The right opportunity….the right person…the right pizza! They are all coming your way. I am so looking forward to watching you grow personally. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

