Nothing Like the Love of an Aunt

images

To continue ‘The Week of Mothers’, I am going to share all the times I lied to my mother. Totally kidding. We don’t have time for that.

I want to give a special shout out to all the women in my life who helped raised me, that didn’t get the title of mom from me. It is those ‘weekend here and there’ ladies, the moms who guided me through high school, and those who took me in for a week every summer.

“It takes a village to raise a child.” That statement couldn’t be more accurate. The outside influences help shaped me and molded me into the woman I am. Whether they let me clean out their entire pantry to play grocery store, or let me decorate their classroom for their upcoming year, those moments stuck with me.

Here are some of my favorite memories:

  • Playing with Dryfus in the backyard of my aunt’s big house in the city. It was scary. I learned many lessons about safety, security and how to never let someone in!
  • Going to a drive-in movie and convincing my aunt to do a double-movie showing. She had to work the next day, so it was a nice two hour nap for her.
  • Living with my little cousin for a summer. She managed to copy everything I did with her friends. She even put mouse in her hair! Except it wasn’t mouse, it was Nair. And she almost went bald.
  • Organizing my aunt’s classroom for the upcoming year. I also got to take home some old books and felt supper cool.
  • Saying the Lord’s Prayer with my aunt as she tucked us into bed.
  • Slumber parties.

Come to think of it, my mom had me visiting other people a lot…Wonder why…hmm.

Anyways, hanging out with these ladies I am privileged to call my aunts, gave me some great life lessons.

  • Not everything will always go your way. You will have to fight tooth and nail for what you truly want.
  • It’s okay to laugh the loudest in a movie theater.
  • It doesn’t matter how many friends you have, just the quality.
  • Hold the leash tight, the dogs are strong and will walk you. You should be walking them.
  • You don’t have to follow the rules. If you believe in something, stand up for it.
  • Patience is a virtue.
  • Plan accordingly. You don’t need to buy a month of groceries for one week at your aunts.
  • Sometimes life gets boring when you are left home alone. Always do something with your time. Playing grocery store with an entire pantry is a very good way. Just put it back before people get home.
  • When people follow you around and ask you a million questions, take it as flattery.
  • Wine, rum or tequila can help any situation.
  • When someone says get off the horse, get off the horse.

You may not understand all of these, but I am sure you have a million memories with your own family. This Mother’s Day, don’t forget to call those other moms who kept you in line for a week so your real mom could get a break.

Love always,

KJM

Leave a Reply

