Put on your Big Girl Panties!

10999351_10100468351163476_1434247853972522397_nWe spend our whole life saying, “I will never be like my mother!” Then you look in the mirror and BAM! You ARE your mother.

I know, I know, being your mother isn’t a bad thing. However, it is a shocking moment when you have spent your whole life trying to be someone else. No matter how hard you try to change or be someone else, you will always have tendencies like your mother.

With Mother’s Day coming up, I found it was fitting to have ‘The Week of Mother’s” blog tribute. All mom, all the time, all week long. Ya, ya, ya, I know all the moms out there are thinking, ‘we get a week! What is that crap!’

Anyways, back to ‘The Week of Mother’s’ and finding yourself looking in the mirror and seeing your mother. I would have to say I was in my early twenties when I first realized this. It is now in my late twenties, early thirties that I realize how much it is embedded in everything I do.

Here are the top reasons why being like your mother is the greatest blessing in the world, and the thing you fight for the most part of your life:

  1. I, like my mother, want to help everyone. Everyone deserves a chance, a smile, a warm meal or a hug.
  2. I like buying little knickknacks for everything. Having a party? Oh you need new cups, bowls, table runners, straws and even silverware for this amazing event. (Mom, Exhibit A, Snow-set dinner plates).
  3. I have a big heart and feel others pain. I want everyone to go to bed at night knowing the world will be better, their world will get better, and if I could fix it I would.
  4. I hoard. I find that random pieces of crap hold serious memories for me. If I throw it away, I am obviously throwing away a memory. Hence the five boxes of childhood that I will never open again, but demand on keeping.
  5. I want everyone to be happy. When I have a party, the list keeps growing and growing because everyone deserves to know they are loved and are welcome at my home. Sometimes makes for interesting company mixing.

These are some amazing tributes of my mom that I have definitely inherited. Overtime I have been able to fine tune them into my own traits that I will hopefully pass on one day to my children.

What I wish I inherited from my mother:

  1. Ability to bake. She can make anything, at any time, for any one! I wish I had a “Grandma” cabinet where I could just bake all day long.
  2. Ability to remember people. My mom has this uncanny ability to remember everyone and their story and be emotionally attached to them. She remembers their favorite food, or names of their children. I have trouble remembering why I walked into the bathroom sometimes.
  3. Open mind. My mom will love you regardless of who you are and your situation. I have this internal checklist that I must run through to ensure you meet the criteria. It’s embarrassing that I have to rationalize it and can’t just reach out and help.
  4. Though my mom will say she is constantly tired, not getting sleep or exhausted, it’s only after she has gotten my nephew on the bus for school, worked a full day, made supper, created some baked item for a funeral or for work the next day, checked in with all her children and found time to watch TV with her husband. Some Saturday’s I don’t even move out of my chair.
  5. Big heart. I have said this a million times already, but she just truly has the biggest heart. I can think of so many times in my childhood where she had the greatest intentions and I spoiled them or didn’t appreciate them. To only have that foresight now in my own life.

Of course families don’t always have sunshine and roses, but when you have a loving woman like this in your life it is easy to find the positives. I am proud to say she is my friend, mentor and mother.

Now when I look in the mirror and see my mother, I smile, give a slight nod and say, “Put on your big girl panties and deal with it!”

Love always,

KJM

Leave a Reply

