Brutal Honesty

IMG_1907    We have all had that moment when a little kid tells you the brutal truth. It’s one of those truths that is so real it makes you laugh when they say it, but deep down it really hurts your heart.

When I was in High School it was my little cousins who asked if I had a baby in my tummy. Ok, time to stop eating ho-ho’s I thought to myself.  Another time I asked my nephew, who was 5 or 6 at the time, to hand me my phone. His response was, “Why so you can take more selfies?”

Sometimes no response is better than saying what is on your mind when you are dealing with a little kid. A clench of my teeth I smiled, grabbed the phone and walked away.

Sometimes, their honesty turns to sweetness. This last weekend I was traveling with my nephew, who is now 8. He loves telling me about school and life and the zombie apocalypse. It’s coming in about a year for your information. Get prepared. We are. Thanks to my nephew.

Back to topic. Sometimes kinds innocently tell you the truth you need to hear. As we were driving, he kicked the floor of garbage in my car. Looked down stunned and confused, picked up a red and white bottle and said, “What is this? Slim Fast? I have NEVER seen this in your car before.”

Thanks buddy. “It’s to start losing weight. I’m trying to drink that to be healthy.” His response was simply, “Huh…” smiled at me and went back to telling his stories. His confusion and quiet response told me, nice work Kristin, you need to do this. I know he has such a big heart that he didn’t want to hurt my feelings by saying it wrong.

I cherish every moment I get to spend with him and cherish his honesty and big heart. He means the world to me and makes me want to be a better person. His heart is so big it reminds me to let down some of my walls and let people in. He is also the most creative little boy I have ever met. I mean, we have a zombie trap in the woods at the farm. What kid do you know has one of those? It also has a rope that leads to a little hut he can sit in to watch the farm for us. He is set!

In regards to the diet. It’s not going so hot. Didn’t gain any weight in the last two weeks, but haven’t lost any either. Just stayed flat. So frustrating!

I did break down for a slight moment at work this week. Mainly because it was what I like to call, “Middle Finger IMG_2250Monday.”It’s one of those Mondays where regardless of how happy you are, it wins, and if it were human, I would flick it off.  So, as habit, I ordered pizza to make myself feel better…but I ordered a salad as well. Then only ate half of the Jet’s Boat pizza that I am now addicted too. Thanks Brent. And that salad was bomb! So there is improvement…right?

Today was another crazy busy day, combined with the frustrating moment of no progress, I usually make myself feel better with a pizza or binge eating all the snacks in the house. Tonight, I chose to write down my struggle and ask for advice to keep going. So lay it on me.

The great thing about having tomorrow is there is always another opportunity to start over, to re-do. Just make sure you live the fullest today you can, tomorrow is not a guarantee.

Love KJM

Leave a Reply

