Show up, then show out!

In order to conquer the world, first you must show up.

My biggest frustration in the world is people who don’t show up when they say they are going to. If you are going to meet me at 10 a.m., meet me. If you aren’t, call me or text me. It’s not that hard.

Why is it so hard for some people?

Why is it hard to show up to work? To come in on time? I was raised to show up 15 minutes before you are supposed. Respect other people’s time.

Yes, we were always late as children. (Totally my mom’s fault!) I can’t tell you how many times we snuck into church and had to sit in the very last pew. Or those couple times when church was packed and we had to do the 5-minute-late walk of shame to the middle row. (And yes mom, it had nothing to do with you getting three children and a husband ready first. J )

But you know what, we showed up. At least we were there. We sat through the service, listened to the sermon and did our part.

I violate this in the worst way. I get that. I would totally rather sit on my couch then show up. It’s hard. I get that. But I am trying.I know it’s an issue and I’m trying to fix it.

You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take. If you don’t show up, you don’t know what could have happened if you did.

If you frequently are getting called for missing events, or people asking where you are, show up next time. It’s never too late to change. You can ALWAYS change your behavior. You don’t have to live up to what people’s perception of you is. Every Monday is a do-over. Every Month is a do-over. There is ALWAYS time to make a change. First you just have to show up and do it.

– KJM

One thought on “Show up, then show out!

Leave a Reply

